I was looking in to this just earlier today. The native macos version worries me a little because it seems someone just happened to discover it in MacOS, rather than it being a documented feature. The worry being Apple could change or remove it later locking you out of your keys since they never advertised this as a thing you could do.
It is the same as you lost your device. You must have a second backup key, and treat one in Secure Enclave as disposable key.
loading story #50452578